Skip to main content

Adding components to your project

info

This feature is still in development and might change in patch releases. It’s not production ready, and the documentation may also evolve. Stay tuned for updates.

To add components to your project, you can instantiate them from the command line, which will create a new directory inside your components/ folder that contains a component.yaml file.

If you want to use Python to add components to your project instead, see "Adding components to your project with Python".

Prerequisites

Before adding a component with Python, you must either create a project with components or migrate an existing project to components.

Finding a component​

You can view the available component types in your environment by running the following command:

dg list component-type

This will display a list of all the component types that are available in your project. To see more information about a specific component type, you can run:

dg docs component-type <component-name>

This will display a webpage containing documentation for the specified component type.

Instantiating a component​

Once you've decided on the component type that you'd like to use, you can instantiate it by running:

dg scaffold component <component-type> <component-name>

This will create a new directory inside your components/ folder that contains a component.yaml file. Some component types may also generate additional files as needed.

Configuration​

Basic configuration​

The component.yaml is the primary configuration file for a component. It contains two top-level fields:

  • type: The type of the component defined in this directory
  • attributes: A dictionary of attributes that are specific to this component type. The schema for these attributes is defined by the get_schema method on the component class.

To see a sample component.yaml file for your specific component, you can run:

dg docs component-type <component-name>

Component templating​

Each component.yaml file supports a rich templating syntax, powered by jinja2.

Templating environment variables​

A common use case for templating is to avoid exposing environment variables (particularly secrets) in your YAML files. The Jinja scope for a component.yaml file contains an env function that can be used to insert environment variables into the template:

component_type: my_snowflake_component

attributes:
    account: {{ env('SNOWFLAKE_ACCOUNT') }}
    password: {{ env('SNOWFLAKE_PASSWORD') }}